stARTacademy

Support for Young Talents

Aufführung des Bundesjugendbalett

For Bayer Arts & Culture, cultural commitment is indispensable because art and culture are the pillars of an enlightened and free society alongside economic and social factors.

With the establishment of stARTacademy in 2009, Bayer Arts & Culture can look back on more than a decade of successful support for artists. Founded to support highly talented young artists from a wide range of disciplines, the format has since moved away from a pure sponsorship concept to intensive cultural sponsorships, sustainable career advancement and a comprehensive artist network.

What is special about this joint venture is the intensive debate, the extensive discussions and the joint projects that arise from the sponsorship and lead to a long-lasting artistic friendship and cooperation.

 

It speaks for the quality of our stARTacademy that many of the artists remain loyal to us even after their active promotion, which usually lasts three years.

 

At this point we would like to thank all the artists who have placed their trust in us over the past years.

Joshua Williams
Joshua Williams

With the tuba, the stARTacdemy puts the spotlight on an instrument that is rarely perceived as a solo instrument. Joshua Williams is versatile, he tries things out, doesn't stick to conventions. And he's committed to outreach. He wants to make it easier for children from groups less strongly represented in classical music to gain access to music. The musician was born in New Orleans and grew up in Atlanta. Classical music, gospel, jazz and soul were equally part of his musical socialization. After his first attempts on the saxophone, he switched to the tuba. The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra recognized his talent, accepted him into its development program and encouraged him to pursue a professional musical career. His special skills on the tuba earned him a scholarship to the Juilliard School in New York, from which he graduated with a bachelor's degree. Since then, he has pursued his career from New York. He has performed on stage with classical orchestras as well as with Wynton Marsalis' Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. In 2022, he became the first tuba player to win the Duo Competition at the prestigious Music Academy in Santa Barbara.

www.aso.org/artists/detail/joshua-williams

 

stARTacademy funding period
from 2024

Giorgi Gigashvili
Giorgi Gigashvili © Kelly de Geer, Classeek

Born in 2000 in Tbilisi, Georgia, Giorgi Gigashvili learned to play the piano without ever thinking about a professional career as a pianist. Rather, his passion was singing and arranging Georgian folk songs and pop songs, with which he performed successfully at various local singing competitions at the age of twelve. Despite this, he continued his formal musical education at the Paliashvili Central Music School for Gifted Children and finally at the Tbilisi State Conservatory under Revaz Tavadze. The turning point and the decision to pursue a career as a pianist came when he heard and met Marta Argerich at the age of 14. From then on it was clear: that's where he wanted to go. Finally, Martha Argerich also chaired the jury when he won 1st prize at the Vigo International Piano Competition in 2019. A few months later he also won third prize and the audience prize at the 62nd Busoni Piano Competition in Bozen. Despite the pandemic, he became more and more visible, for example at the Geza Anda competition, where he received the youth prize. Marta Argerich enabled him to study at the Geneva Conservatory with Nelson Goerner. Lisa Batiashvili invited him as a scholarship holder from her foundation and recorded the Franck Sonata with him for Deutsche Grammophon, which was released in the summer of 2022. The 2022/23 season already includes many debuts in important centers, such as with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester in Berlin, the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, the Heidelberg Spring, the Thuringian Bach Weeks and a tour with Johann Dalene in the USA, including in Carnegie Hall. His first album of a three album deal with the Alpha label will be released in April 2023.

www.giorgigigashvili.com

 

stARTacademy funding period
from 2023

Fatma Said

The Egyptian soprano Fatma Said (born 1991) grew up in Cairo and attended the German School there. She trained in Berlin and at La Scala in Milan. Fatma represented Egypt as an opera singer on Human Rights Day 2014 and 2018 at the United Nations in Geneva and at the Silk Road Concert in 2017 in Luxor. In 2016, the Egyptian National Council for Women awarded her an honorary prize for her outstanding international artistic achievements. As a result, she became the first Egyptian opera singer ever to be awarded the state’s Creativity Award, one of Egypt’s highest accolades.

www.fatmasaid.com

 

stARTacademy funding period
from 2022

Bar Avni
Headshot La Maestra

The Israeli conductor Bar Avni completed her studies in the class of Ulrich Windfuhr at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg, after first studying percussion and bassoon at the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv. Bar Avni made her debut at the Tyrolean Festival in Erl in 2016 and was a scholarship holder of the Orchestra Academy of the Bergische Symphoniker in the 2017/18 season. At the Hamburg Chamber Opera she subsequently conducted Simplicius Simplicissimus by Karl Amadeus Hartmann, made her debut with the Staatskapelle Halle, conducted the Hamburg Camerata in the Elbphilharmonie and made her debut with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Bar Avni was a member of Manfred Honeck's conducting academy and worked with Jaap van Zweden. She is a scholarship holder of the International Kurt Masur Institute and chief conductor of the Bayer Philharmonic Orchestra since 2021. In 2024, she received the first prize at the international competition "La Maestra" in Paris and four additional prizes, including the Prix ECHO and the Prix ARTE.

www.baravni.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
from 2021

Jakob Manz

Jakob Manz comes from a musical family and came into contact with the drums, the recorder and the saxophone in his earliest childhood. Numerous awards at the German "Jugend Musiziert" competition document his versatility. From 2016 to 2019 he was a young student at the Stuttgart Music Academy before moving to Cologne in 2019. Jakob Manz has been sponsored by Bayer Arts & Culture as a member of the stARTacademy since 2021. As part of his “Jakob Manz Project” he is performing at the stARTfestival and the Leverkusen Jazz Days. His first album Natural Energy was released in April 2020 on the ACT label.

www.jakobmanz.de

 

Support period stARTacademy
from 2021

Rike Huy

The trumpeter Rike Huy is at home in many artistic fields and playfully combines genres and disciplines in her versatility. As a member of the stARTacademy, she has been supported by Bayer Arts & Culture since 2020. She studied trumpet in Berlin, Paris and Hanover and has won several international music competitions. In 2011-12 Rike Huy was a scholarship holder of the International Ensemble Modern Academy and since then has been working primarily in the contemporary music scene both as a soloist and in ensemble formation (Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Collegium Novum Zurich). Since 2017 she has been principal trumpet in the Basel Sinfonietta. In 2019 the musician was on an international concert tour with the Canadian singer Peaches. Together with former stARTacademy artist Lisa Charlotte Friederich, Rike Huy produced the feature film LIVE'. With Joosten Ellée she composed the film music and recorded all trumpet parts.

www.rikehuy.de

 

Support period stARTacademy
from 2020

Lisa Charlotte Friederich

Lisa Charlotte Friederich works as an actress and director. She studied acting at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart and graduated in Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen. In 2016 she received the Hessian Film Award in the category female lead role for the film "Fritz Lang". 2010 - 2012 she was a permanent member of the ensemble at the Lübeck Theatre and acted in various theatre and television productions. In 2013 and 2014 she worked as assistant director to Heiner Goebbels at the Ruhrtriennale International Festival of the Arts. As part of the Heidelberger Frühling International Music Festival, she wrote and directed the multimedia music theatre play "Castor&&Pollux" in spring 2019. Together with the stARTacademy artist Rike Huy she produced the feature film "Live".

www.agenturneuffer.de/profil/lisa-charlotte-friederich

 

Support period stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Philippe Kratz

Philippe Kratz from Leverkusen came into contact with dance as a child. After his first steps with Helena Krassa and intensive schooling at Freiherr von Stein Gymnasium and during an exchange year in Canada, he completed a ballet education at the Berlin State Ballet School with Gregor Seyffert. From 2006 to 2008 he was a soloist at the Theater der Stadt Dortmund under the direction of Xin Pen Wang before joining the Italian company Aterballetto. Cristina Bozzolini, the artistic director of Aterballetto, is an important mentor for Philippe Kratz, who is now also an internationally renowned choreographer.

www.aterballetto.it/en/aterballetto/dancers/philippe-kratz

 

Support period stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Alexej Gerassimez

Alexei Gerassimez is the leading German percussionist and is at home as a musician and composer on all major stages in Germany and abroad. His repertoire ranges from classical and new music to jazz and minimal music and is constantly expanding through his own compositions and arrangements. As a soloist, Alexei Gerassimez is a guest of internationally renowned orchestras (including the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, Munich Philharmonic, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, SWR Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra) under the baton of conductors such as Tan Dun, Kristjan Järvi, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Jonathan Stockhammer, John Axelrod and Michel Tabachnik. In his acclaimed concerts, Alexei Gerassimez, who teaches as a professor at the Munich Musikhochschule, integrates not only the usual percussion and melodic instruments, but also objects from actually non-musical contexts such as bottles, brake disks, barrels or ship's propellers, thus enthusing audiences and the trade press alike.

www.alexejgerassimez.de

 

Support period stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Sandro Roy

Sandro Roy combines the world of classical music with the elements of jazz like no other violinist. In 2015 he released his debut CD "Where I Come From". Since then the young exceptional violinist has enjoyed a remarkable career, has been highly praised by the press and has played at various major festivals in Europe and also in the USA. Highlights of his still young career were a live show on BBC radio and a sold-out concert at the legendary Ronnie Scotts Jazzclub London. Subsequently, in 2019, he performed with the Munich Radio Orchestra under the motto "Gypsy goes Classic" at the sold-out Prinzregententheater Munich and made his debut with the Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra Amsterdam.

www.sandro-roy.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Bundesjugendballett
Aufführung des Bundesjugendbalett

The Bundesjugendballett, founded in Hamburg on the initiative of John Neumeier, is the German cadre for young ballet talent from the renowned companies. The young dancers* receive comprehensive training in the form of a scholarship, are introduced to new dance forms and prepared for professional life with the professional guidance of renowned teachers. Innovative formats, also in the area of child and youth work, are just as important for the young dancers as their own choreographic work.

www.bundesjugendballett.de

 

Support period stARTacademy
2016 - 2018

Tamar Beraia

The pianist Tamar Beraia, born in 1987 in Tbilisi, Georgia, was sponsored by Bayer Arts & Culture as a member of the stARTacademy from 2015 to 2018. She appears both as a soloist and as a duo with her sister and was initially taught by her mother in early childhood. She took her concert exams with Ivan Klánský at the Lucerne School of Music and was subsequently supported by Elisabeth Leonskaja. Tamar Beraia has been awarded numerous prizes and regularly gives concerts in the music centres of Europe and in her native Georgia.

www.tamarberaia.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2015 - 2018

Tobias Feldmann

The violinist Tobias Feldmann has been one of the most distinguished musicians of his generation for many years. The foundation stone of his impressive career was laid in childhood; he was in the early development class at the Würzburg Music Academy before he completed his main studies at the "Hanns Eisler" Academy of Music in Berlin with Antje Weithaas. In 2018 Tobias Feldmann was appointed professor at the Würzburg conservatory. His musical partners include Julian Steckel, Maximilian Hornung, Boris Kuznezow, Tabea Zimmermann, Istvan Vardai, Kian Soltani, Deniz Kozhukin and Nicolas Altstaedt.

www.tobias-feldmann.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2015 - 2018

Olivia Trummer

Jazz pianist, singer, composer - Olivia Trummer is all in one. The classically trained musician draws from a broad musical spectrum. With keys and voice, she forms new connections between genres, for which she has already received many awards, most recently the Jazzpreis Baden-Württemberg 2019.
Born in Stuttgart in 1985 into a family of musicians, she began classical piano training at the age of 4. At the same time, she discovered her curiosity to express herself through improvisation and composition. She studied jazz piano and classical piano at the MHS in Stuttgart, graduated with honors in both, and continued her jazz studies with the help of a DAAD scholarship at the "Manhattan School of Music" in New York. The formative years spent in the jazz metropolis as well as her close relationship to classical music have always served as sources of inspiration for her. Concerts have taken Olivia Trummer to Italy, Ireland, England, China, Japan and the USA.

www.oliviatrummer.de

 

Support period stARTacademy
2013 - 2016

Alexander Krichel

The German pianist Alexander Krichel has been a member of the stART-Academy family of artists since 2012 and has taken the audience at the Erholungshaus by storm. In numerous concerts, whether as a soloist or as a chamber music partner, he has demonstrated his versatility in Leverkusen. Born in Hamburg in 1989, he first studied with Vladimir Krainev in Hannover before completing his studies at the Royal College of Music with Dmitri Alexeev. In 2013 Alexander Krichel was named "Young Artist of the Year" at the ECHO Klassik with his debut CD. Alexander Krichel is co-founder and artistic director of the award-winning festival "Kultur Rockt" as well as artistic director of the exclusive concert series "Chamber Music on the Upper Rhine" and since 2018 a permanent jury member of the "Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis".

www.alexanderkrichel.de

 

Support period stARTacademy
2012 - 2015

Valentin Radutiu

Valentin Radutiu, born in Munich in 1986, learned to play the cello from his father, the cellist Emil Radutiu, and subsequently studied in Salzburg, Vienna and Berlin with Clemens Hagen, Heinrich Schiff and David Geringas. He has won prizes in national and international competitions and was supported by Bayer Arts & Culture as part of the stARTacademy from 2012 to 2015. As a soloist Valentin Radutiu performs with renowned orchestras in Austria and abroad and works with conductors such as Cristian Macelaru, Wolfram Christ, Ruben Gazarian and Gustavo Gimeno. His musical partners include the Hagen Quartet and renowned personalities such as Evgeni Bozhanov, Antje Weithaas or Julian Steckel. Radutiu plays a violoncello by Francesco Ruggieri (Cremona, 1686).

www.radutiu.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2012 - 2015

Benjamin Schäfer Trio

The Benjamin Schaefer Trio was supported by Bayer Arts & Culture from 2010 to 2013, opening the doors of the stARTacademy to jazz. In 2007 Benjamin Schaefer and his trio won the audience prize and the prize for best composition at the Concours du Jazz Européen in Avignon. In the same year, the trio also received the Lower Saxony Jazz Prize and, in 2011, a sponsorship award from the city of Cologne. Schaefer himself studied jazz piano and composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln with Frank Wunsch, Hans Lüdemann, John Taylor and Joachim Ullrich. He has been a lecturer for jazz piano at his alma mater since 2009.

www.benjaminschaefer.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2010 - 2013

Hardy Rittner

Hardy Rittner studied piano and fortepiano with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling and Siegbert Rampe at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg, passed his concert exam with Klaus Hellwig at the Berlin University of the Arts and completed his education by studying music theory with Hartmut Fladt, music education and musicology. His international concert activity on historical keyboard instruments of the 19th century as well as on modern concert pianos has taken him to almost all European countries as well as to South Korea, Taiwan, Canada and the USA. Hardy Rittner set standards with his recording of the complete solo piano works of Johannes Brahms, for the first time on original instruments of the time. Since October 2017 Professor for piano at the Freiburg University of Music.

www.hardyrittner.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2009 - 2012

Signum Quartett

The members of the renowned Signum Quartet are part of the first generation stARTacademy. On their way to the top of the leading chamber music ensembles, the Signum Quartet has for many years inspired visitors* to the Erholungshaus above all by the stylistic range of the literature they perform. The Signum Quartet is a welcome guest on the concert stages of international and European music metropolises and works together with musicians such as Elisabeth Leonskaja, Jörg Widmann, Igor Levit, Nils Mönkemeyer, Adrian Brendel and Dominique Horwitz. In 2015, the quartet launched the innovative social media project #quartweet, which invites composers worldwide - regardless of age and education - to send a short quartet of 140 characters or less via Twitter. The project received a lot of media attention and was presented by Deutschlandfunk, BBC In Tune and on the U-21 programme of Bayerischer Rundfunk.

www.signumquartet.com

 

Support period stARTacademy
2009 - 2012

Coypright:
Key Visual of the Bundesjugendbalett © Kiran West

stARTacademy

Förderprogramm für junge Talente

Aufführung des Bundesjugendbalett

Für Bayer Kultur ist kulturelles Engagement unerlässlich, da Kunst und Kultur neben wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Faktoren die Pfeiler einer aufgeklärten und freien Gesellschaft sind. Um hochtalentierte junge Musiker*innen materiell und ideell zu unterstützen, gründet Bayer Kultur vor mehr als einem Jahrzehnt die stARTacademy.

Die stARTacademy

Mit der Gründung der stARTacademy im Jahr 2009 blickt Bayer Kultur auf mehr als ein Jahrzehnt erfolgreiche Künstlerförderung zurück. Gegründet als Unterstützung für hochtalentierte junge Künstler*innen unterschiedlichster Sparten, hat sich das Format mittlerweile weg vom reinen Sponsoring-Gedanken hin zu intensiven Kulturpatenschaften, nachhaltigen Karriereförderungen und einem umfassenden Künstlernetzwerk etabliert.

 

Das Besondere an diesem Joint Venture sind die intensive Auseinandersetzung, die ausgiebigen Gespräche und die gemeinsamen Projekte, die durch die Förderung entstehen und zu einer langanhaltenden künstlerischen Freundschaft und Zusammenarbeit führen.

 

Unsere stART-Künstler*innen treten mit Ihren aktuellen Projekten regelmäßig im Rahmen des stARTfestivals und der Leverkusener Jazztage auf. Informationen und Tickets zu den Veranstaltungen erhalten Sie bei Kölnticket.

Joshua Williams
Joshua Williams

Mit der Tuba rückt die stARTacademy ein Instrument ins Rampenlicht, das nur selten als Solo-Instrument wahrgenommen wird. Der Künstler Joshua Williams ist vielseitig, er probiert aus, hält sich nicht an Konventionen. Und er engagiert sich in der Vermittlung. Kindern aus weniger stark in der Klassik repräsentierten Gruppen will er den Zugang zur Musik erleichtern. Der Musiker ist in New Orleans geboren und in Atlanta aufgewachsen. Klassische Musik, Gospel, Jazz und Soul gehörten gleichermaßen zu seiner musikalischen Sozialisation. Nach ersten Gehversuchen am Saxofon wechselte er zur Tuba. Das Atlanta Symphony Orchestra erkannte sein Talent, nahm ihn in sein Förderprogramm auf und bestärkte ihn darin, eine professionelle musikalische Karriere zu verfolgen. Seine besonderen Fähigkeiten an der Tuba brachten ihm außerdem ein Stipendium für die Juilliard School in New York ein, die er mit einem Bachelor abschloss. Seither verfolgt er von New York aus seine Karriere. Mit klassischen Orchestern hat er ebenso bereits auf der Bühne gestanden wie mit Wynton Marsalis’ Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. 2022 gewann er als erster Tubist die Duo Competition der renommierten Music Academy in Santa Barbara.

www.aso.org/artists/detail/joshua-williams

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
ab 2024

Giorgi Gigashvili
Giorgi Gigashvili © Kelly de Geer, Classeek

Geboren im Jahr 2000 in Tbilisi, Georgien, erlernte Giorgi Gigashvili das Klavierspiel ohne je an eine professionelle Karriere als Pianist zu denken. Seine Leidenschaft galt vielmehr dem Singen und Arrangieren von georgischen Volksliedern und Popsongs, mit denen er als Zwölfjähriger erfolgreich in verschiedenen lokalen Gesangswettbewerben auftrat. Trotzdem setzte er daneben seine formale musikalische Ausbildung an der Zentralen Paliashvili-Musikschule für begabte Kinder und schliesslich am Staatlichen Konservatorium von Tbilisi unter Revaz Tavadze fort. Der Wendepunkt und die Entscheidung für eine Pianistenkarriere kam, als er im Alter von 14 Jahren Marta Argerich hörte und begegnete. Fortan stand fest: dahin wollte er. Martha Argerich war schließlich auch die Juryvorsitzende, als er 2019 beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb von Vigo den 1. Preis gewann. Einige Monate später gewann er zudem den 3. Preis und den Publikumspreis beim 62. Busoni-Klavierwettbewerb in Bozen. Trotz Pandemie wurde er immer sichtbarer, z.B. beim Geza Anda Wettbewerb, bei dem er den Jugendpreis bekam. Marta Argerich ermöglichte ihm, am Genfer Konservatorium bei Nelson Goerner zu studieren. Lisa Batiashvili lud ihn als Stipendiat ihre Stiftung ein und nahm mit ihm für das Deutsche Grammophon die Franck Sonate auf, erschienen im Sommer 2022. Die Saison 2022/23 sieht bereits viele Debuts in wichtigen Zentren vor, wie mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester in Berlin, der Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, dem Heidelberger Frühling, die Thüringer Bachwochen und eine Tournée mit Johann Dalene in den USA unter anderem in der Carnegie Hall. Sein erstes Album eines drei Albumvertrags mit dem Label Alpha wird im April 2023 erscheinen.

www.giorgigigashvili.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
ab 2023

Fatma Said

Die ägyptische Sopranistin Fatma Said, geboren 1991, wuchs in Kairo auf und besuchte dort die Deutsche Schule. Sie wurde in Berlin und an der Mailänder Scala ausgebildet. Fatma vertrat Ägypten als Opernsängerin am Tag der Menschenrechte 2014 und 2018 bei den Vereinten Nationen in Genf und beim Silk Road Concert 2017 in Luxor. 2016 verlieh ihr der ägyptische Nationalrat für Frauen einen Ehrenpreis für ihre herausragenden internationalen künstlerischen Leistungen. Damit war sie die erste ägyptische Opernsängerin überhaupt, die mit dem staatlichen Kreativitätspreis, einer der höchsten Auszeichnungen Ägyptens, ausgezeichnet wurde.

www.fatmasaid.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
ab 2022

Bar Avni

Die israelische Dirigentin Bar Avni schloss ihr Studium in der Klasse von Ulrich Windfuhr an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg ab, nachdem sie zunächst Schlagwerk und Fagott an der Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv studierte. Bar Avni debütierte 2016 bei den Tiroler Festspielen in Erl und war in der Saison 2017/18 Stipendiatin der Orchesterakademie der Bergischen Symphoniker. An der Hamburger Kammeroper dirigierte sie in der Folge Simplicius Simplicissimus von Karl Amadeus Hartmann, gab ihren Einstand bei der Staatskapelle Halle, dirigierte die Hamburger Camerata in der Elbphilharmonie und debütierte beim Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Bar Avni war Mitglied der Dirigentenakademie von Manfred Honeck und arbeitete mit Jaap van Zweden. Sie ist Stipendiatin des Internationalen Kurt-Masur-Instituts und ab 2021 neue Chefdirigentin der Bayer Philharmoniker.

www.baravni.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
ab 2021

Jakob Manz

Jakob Manz stammt aus einem musikalischen Elternhaus und kam in frühester Kindheit in Kontakt mit dem Schlagzeug, der Blockflöte und dem Saxophon. Zahlreiche Preise beim Wettbewerb „Jugend Musiziert“ dokumentieren seine Vielseitigkeit. Von 2016 bis 2019 war er Jungstudent an der Stuttgarter Musikhochschule bevor 2019 nach Köln wechselte. Jakob Manz wird ab 2021 als Mitglied der stARTacademy von Bayer Kultur gefördert und tritt mit seinem Jakob Manz Project im Rahmen des stARTfestivals und der Leverkusener Jazztage auf. Sein erstes Album Natural Energy wurde im April 2020 beim Label ACT veröffentlicht.

www.jakobmanz.de

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
ab 2021

Rike Huy

Die Trompeterin Rike Huy ist in vielen künstlerischen Bereichen beheimatet und vereint in ihrer Vielseitigkeit spielerisch Genres und Disziplinen. Als Mitglied der stARTacademy wird sie seit 2020 von Bayer Kultur gefördert. Sie studierte Trompete in Berlin, Paris und Hannover und ist Gewinnerin mehrerer internationaler Musikwettbewerbe. 2011-12 war Rike Huy Stipendiatin der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie und arbeitet seither vor allem in der zeitgenössischen Musikszene sowohl als Solistin als auch in Ensemblebesetzung (Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Collegium Novum Zürich). Seit 2017 ist sie Solotrompeterin in der Basel Sinfonietta. 2019 war die Musikerin auf internationaler Konzerttournee mit der kanadischen Sängerin Peaches. Zusammen mit der ehemaligen stARTacademy-Künstlerin Lisa Charlotte Friederich produzierte Rike Huy den Spielfilm LIVE´. Mit Joosten Ellée komponierte sie die Filmmusik und spielte alle Trompetenparts ein.

www.rikehuy.de

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
ab 2020

Lisa Charlotte Friederich

Lisa Charlotte Friederich arbeitet als Schauspielerin und Regisseurin. Sie studierte Schauspiel an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart und absolvierte das Studium der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. 2016 erhielt sie den Hessischen Filmpreis in der Kategorie weibliche Hauptrolle für den Film „Fritz Lang“. 2010 - 2012 war sie festes Ensemblemitglied am Theater Lübeck und spielte in diversen Theater- und Fernsehproduktionen. 2013 und 2014 arbeitete sie als Regieassistentin von Heiner Goebbels bei der Ruhrtriennale International Festival of the Arts. Im Rahmen des Internationalen Musikfestivals Heidelberger Frühling schrieb und inszenierte sie im Frühjahr 2019 das multimediale Musiktheaterstück „Castor&&Pollux“. Zusammen mit der stARTacademy-Künstlerin Rike Huy produzierte sie den Langfilm „Live“.

www.agenturneuffer.de/profil/lisa-charlotte-friederich

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Philippe Kratz

Der Leverkusener Philippe Kratz kam bereits im Kindesalter mit Tanz in Berührung. Nach ersten Gehversuchen bei Helena Krassa und intensiver schulischer Förderung am Freiherr von Stein Gymnasium sowie im Rahmen eines Austauschjahres in Kanada absolvierte er eine Ballettausbildung an der staatlichen Ballettschule Berlin bei Gregor Seyffert. Von 2006 bis 2008 war er unter der Leitung von Xin Pen Wang Solist am Theater der Stadt Dortmund, bevor er zur italienischen Kompagnie Aterballetto wechselte. Cristina Bozzolini, die künstlerische Leiterin von Aterballetto, ist eine wichtige Mentorin für Philippe Kratz, der mittlerweile auch als international angesehener Choreograph tätig ist.

www.aterballetto.it/en/aterballetto/dancers/philippe-kratz

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Alexej Gerassimez

Alexej Gerassimez ist der führende deutsche Perkussionist und als Musiker und Komponist auf allen großen Bühnen im In- und Ausland zuhause. Sein Repertoire reicht von Klassik und Neuer Musik über Jazz bis zu Minimal Music und erweitert sich beständig durch eigene Kompositionen und Bearbeitungen. Als Solist ist Alexej Gerassimez Gast international renommierter Orchester (u.a. NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, Münchner Philharmoniker, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, SWR Symphonieorchester, Rundfunksinfonieorchester Berlin) unter der Leitung von Dirigenten wie Tan Dun, Kristjan Järvi, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Jonathan Stockhammer, John Axelrod und Michel Tabachnik. Bei seinen umjubelten Konzerten integriert Alexej Gerassimez, der als Professor an der Münchener Musikhochschule unterrichtet, neben den üblichen Schlag- und Melodieinstrumenten auch Objekte aus eigentlich musikfernen Kontexten wie Flaschen, Bremsscheiben, Fässer oder Schiffsschrauben und begeistert damit Publikum und Fachpresse gleichermaßen.

www.alexejgerassimez.de

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Sandro Roy

Sandro Roy vereint wie kaum ein anderer Geiger die Welt der Klassik mit den Elementen des Jazz. 2015 veröffentlichte er seine Debüt CD “Where I Come From”. Seitdem hat der junge Ausnahmeviolinist eine bemerkenswerte Karriere absolviert, wurde von der Presse hochgelobt und spielte bei diversen großen Festivals in Europa und auch in den USA. Höhepunkte seiner noch jungen Karriere waren eine Liveshow im BBC Radio sowie ein ausverkauftes Konzert im legendären Ronnie Scotts Jazzclub London. In der Folge war er 2019 mit dem Münchner Rundfunk Orchester unter dem Motto "Gypsy goes Classic" im ausverkauften Prinzregententheater München zu erleben und debütierte beim Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra Amsterdam.

www.sandro-roy.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2018 - 2020

Bundesjugendballett
Aufführung des Bundesjugendbalett

Das Bundesjugendballett, auf Initiative von John Neumeier in Hamburg gegründet, ist die deutsche Kaderschmiede für den Ballett-Nachwuchs der renommierten Kompanien. Im Rahmen eines Stipendiums werden die jungen Tänzer*innen umfassend ausgebildet, an neue Tanzformen herangeführt und durch die professionelle Anleitung renommierter Pädagogen auf das Berufsleben vorbereitet. Innovative Formate, auch im Bereich der Kinder- und Jugendarbeit, sind für die jungen Tänzer*innen ebenso wichtig wie die eigene choreographische Arbeit.

www.bundesjugendballett.de

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2016 - 2018

Tamar Beraia

Die Pianistin Tamar Beraia, 1987 im georgischen Tiflis geboren, wurde von 2015 bis 2018 als Mitglied der stARTacademy von Bayer Kultur gefördert. Sie tritt als Solistin sowie im Duo mit ihrer Schwester gleichermaßen in Erscheinung und wurde in frühester Kindheit zunächst von ihrer Mutter unterrichtet. An der Musikhochschule Luzern legte sie ihr Konzertexamen bei Ivan Klánský ab und wurde in der Folge von Elisabeth Leonskaja gefördert. Tamar Beraia wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet und konzertiert regelmäßig in den Musikzentren Europas sowie in ihrer Heimat Georgien.

www.tamarberaia.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2015 - 2018

Tobias Feldmann

Der Violinist Tobias Feldmann gehört seit vielen Jahren zu den profiliertesten Musikern seiner Generation. Der Grundstein seiner beeindruckenden Karriere wurde bereits im Kindesalter gelegt; er war in der Frühförderklasse der Musikhochschule Würzburg bevor er sein Hauptstudium an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin bei Antje Weithaas abschloss. 2018 wurde Tobias Feldmann als Professor an die Musikhochschule Würzburg berufen. Zu seinen musikalischen Partnern zählen u.a. Julian Steckel, Maximilian Hornung, Boris Kusnezow, Tabea Zimmermann, Istvan Vardai, Kian Soltani, Deniz Kozhukin und Nicolas Altstaedt.

www.tobias-feldmann.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2015 - 2018

Olivia Trummer

Jazzpianistin, Sängerin, Komponistin - Olivia Trummer ist alles in einem. Die klassisch ausgebildete Musikerin schöpft aus einem breit gefächerten musikalischen Spektrum. Mit Tasten und Stimme formt sie neue Verbindungen zwischen den Genres, wofür sie bereits vielfach ausgezeichnet wurde, zuletzt mit dem Jazzpreis Baden-Württemberg 2019.
1985 in Stuttgart in einer Musikerfamilie geboren, begann sie mit 4 Jahren eine klassische Klavierausbildung und entdeckte zeitgleich ihre Neugier, sich über Improvisation und Komposition auszudrücken. Sie studierte Jazzklavier und klassisches Klavier an der MHS in Stuttgart, schloss beides mit Auszeichnung ab und setzte ihr Jazzstudium mithilfe eines DAAD-Stipendiums an der "Manhattan School of Music" in New York fort. Die prägenden, in der Jazzmetropole verbrachten Jahre sowie ihr enger Bezug zur klassischen Musik dienen ihr von je her als Inspirationsquellen. Konzerte führten Olivia Trummer nach Italien, Irland, England, China, Japan und in die USA.

www.oliviatrummer.de

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2013 - 2016

Alexander Krichel

Der deutsche Pianist Alexander Krichel gehört seit 2012 zur Familie der stART-Academy Künstler und hat das Publikum im Erholungshaus im Sturm erobert. In zahlreichen Konzerten, ob solistisch oder als Kammermusikpartner, hat er in Leverkusen seine Vielseitigkeit unter Beweis gestellt. 1989 in Hamburg geboren, studierte er zunächst bei Vladimir Krainev in Hannover bevor am Royal College of Music bei Dmitri Alexeev seine Studien komplettierte. 2013 wurde Alexander Krichel mit seiner Debüt-CD zum „Nachwuchskünstler des Jahres“ beim ECHO Klassik gekürt. Alexander Krichel ist Mitbegründer und künstlerischer Leiter des preisgekrönten Festivals „Kultur Rockt“ sowie künstlerischer Leiter der exklusiven Konzertreihe „Kammermusik am Hochrhein“ und seit 2018 festes Jurymitglied des „Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreises“.

www.alexanderkrichel.de

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2012 - 2015

Valentin Radutiu

Valentin Radutiu, 1986 in München geboren, erlernte das Cellospiel von seinem Vater, dem Cellisten Emil Radutiu und studierte in der Folge in Salzburg, Wien und Berlin bei Clemens Hagen, Heinrich Schiff und David Geringas. Er ist Preisträger nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe und wurde von 2012 bis 2015 im Rahmen der stARTacademy von Bayer Kultur gefördert. Als Solist konzertiert Valentin Radutiu mit renommierten Klangkörpern im in- und Ausland und arbeitet mit Dirigenten, wie Cristian Macelaru, Wolfram Christ, Ruben Gazarian oder Gustavo Gimeno. Zu seinen musikalischen Partnern gehören das Hagen Quartett sowie renommierte Persönlichkeiten wie Evgeni Bozhanov, Antje Weithaas oder Julian Steckel. Radutiu spielt ein Violoncello von Francesco Ruggieri (Cremona, 1686).

www.radutiu.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2012 - 2015

Benjamin Schäfer Trio

Das Benjamin Schaefer Trio wurde in den Jahren 2010 bis 2013 von Bayer Kultur gefördert und öffnete damit dem Jazz die Türen zur stARTacademy. Bereits 2007 gewann Benjamin Schaefer mit seinem Trio beim Concours du Jazz Européen in Avignon den Publikumspreis und den Preis für die beste Komposition. Im gleichen Jahr erhielt das Trio zudem den Niedersächsischen Jazzpreis sowie 2011 einen Förderpreis der Stadt Köln. Schaefer selbst studierte Jazzpiano und Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln bei Frank Wunsch, Hans Lüdemann, John Taylor und Joachim Ullrich. An seiner Alma Mater ist er seit 2009 Dozent für Jazz-Klavier.

www.benjaminschaefer.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2010 - 2013

Hardy Rittner

Hardy Rittner studierte Klavier und Hammerklavier bei Karl-Heinz Kämmerling und Siegbert Rampe an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg, legte sein Konzertexamen bei Klaus Hellwig an der Universität der Künste Berlin ab und komplettierte seine Ausbildung durch Studien der Musiktheorie bei Hartmut Fladt, der Musikpädagogik und der Musikwissenschaft. Seine internationale Konzerttätigkeit auf historischen Tasteninstrumenten des 19. Jahrhunderts, wie auch auf modernen Konzertflügeln führte ihn in nahezu allen europäischen Ländern sowie nach Südkorea, Taiwan, Kanada und in die USA. Mit der Einspielung des gesamten Solo-Klavierwerks von Johannes Brahms, erstmals auf originalen Instrumenten der Zeit, setzte Hardy Rittner Maßstäbe. Seit Oktober 2017 Professor für Klavier an der Hochschule für Musik Freiburg.

www.hardyrittner.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2009 - 2012

Signum Quartett

Die Mitglieder des renommierten Signum Quartetts sind Teil der stARTacademy der ersten Generation. Auf ihrem Weg an die Spitze der führenden Kammermusik-Ensembles hat das Signum Quartett über viele Jahre hinweg die Besucher*innen des Erholungshauses vor allem durch die stilistische Bandbreite der dargebotenen Literatur begeistert. Das Signum Quartett ist gern gesehener Gast auf den Konzertpodien der internationalen und europäischen Musikmetropolen und arbeitet mit Musiker*innen wie Elisabeth Leonskaja, Jörg Widmann, Igor Levit, Nils Mönkemeyer, Adrian Brendel und Dominique Horwitz zusammen. 2015 rief das Quartett das innovative Social-Media-Projekt #quartweet ins Leben, das weltweit Komponisten – unabhängig von Alter und Ausbildung – dazu einlädt, ein kurzes Quartett von 140 Zeichen oder weniger über Twitter zu senden. Das Projekt rief großes Medienecho hervor und wurde u.a. von Deutschlandfunk, bei BBC In Tune und im Rahmen der Sendung U-21 des Bayerischen Rundfunks vorgestellt.

www.signumquartet.com

 

Förderzeitraum stARTacademy
2009 - 2012

Coypright:
Key Visual des Bundesjugendbaletts © Kiran West